Old Truman Brewery
21–24 September 2017
Joseph Harrington

Joseph Harrington (b.1979) is a sculptor working predominantly in cast glass. He graduated with an MA in Ceramics and Glass from the Royal College of Art in 2006, and won a Crafts Council Development Award in 2007. Joseph has exhibited both nationally and internationally. In 2010 he was selected for the Jerwood Contemporary Makers exhibition in Edinburgh and London, as well as in the 2012 International Festival of Glass Biennale.

The main principle within his work is to create a sense of time and movement within a permanent object. Joseph has a fascination with turning one thing into another, the reaction of materials and energies acting upon each other. He uses a direct approach with the modelling material to provide an energetic, spontaneous working method and creative mindset. This energy lives on within the work, giving a sense of progression and evolution within a solid permanent form.

He has developed a unique working method using ice as a modeling medium. The ice is eroded and sculpted with salt then cast into glass, capturing a moment in time as the ice is melting. This thawing of ice provides a physical time frame to work within, heightening the importance of artistic judgment and decision-making.

Stand

Nature Lab

Hall

British Craft Pavilion

Country

United Kingdom

Contact

r_baker@craftscouncil.org.uk
www.josephharrington.co.uk

Showcase participants

Contact

General Enquiries

enquiry@londondesignfair.co.uk
+44 (0)20 7739 5561

Shoreditch Town Hall
London
EC1V 9LT

 

Exhibiting & Sponsorship

Jimmy MacDonald
Director & Founder
jimmy@londondesignfair.co.uk
+44 (0)20 7739 5561

Francesco Dell'Anna
Sales Executive
francesco@londondesignfair.co.uk
+44 (0)20 7739 5561

Catherine Bramley
Sales Executive
catherine@londondesignfair.co.uk
+44 (0)20 7739 5561

Manfredi Nulli
EMEA Liaison
manfredi.nulli@londondesignfair.co.uk
+44 (0)20 7739 5561

Marketing & Press Relations

Megan Taylor
Senior Marketing Manager
megan@londondesignfair.co.uk
+44 (0)20 7739 5561

Emily Ward
Marketing & Communications Manager
emily@londondesignfair.co.uk
+44 (0)20 7739 5561

Press Office
Seen PR
press@londondesignfair.co.uk
+44 (0)12 7372 2469

Connect
Newsletter

© 2016 Tent Exhibitions Ltd © 2016 London Design Fair